Standard Chartered EPL Football Malaysia Cup 2013

On Sunday April 21st the Standard Chartered EPL Football Malaysia Cup 2013 was held at Stadium Putra, Bukit Jalil. Legends teams Liverpool, Manchester United,Malaysia and the EPL All Stars made their appearance and battled it out for honor and glory in front of nearly 9,000 roaring fans.

The event started in good form with the 1 Malaysia Football Carnival giving fans the opportunity to get some signatures for and meet the players themselves.  The first match of the day saw Malaysia grind out an impressive 2-1 victory over the Red Devils. United, who despite an appearance from cheeky winger Lee Sharpe, struggled against an in form Malaysia team who scored two great counter attacks after some solid defending.

Unfortunately for Malaysia, sponsored by TM – Team Malaysia, that would be their only victory of the day. They fell short against the All Stars and Liverpool, who went on to play in the final. 

Before the All Star Liverpool decider however, some lucky fans had the chance to play the crossbar challenge for a chance to win a Chevrolet Sonic. The challenge was definitely not easy, only runner up prizes were won with prize money from Kansai Paints and free flights from Qatar Airways.

In the final clash of the day it Liverpool came out on top after a hard fought battle against the EPL All Stars, winning 5-4.  Robbie Fowler won the top goal scorer title for the second year running with 10 goals, showing he is still a lethal finisher.


Bjorn Tore Kvarme’s hearty performance earned him player of the tournament, with solid defensive play and a fewlong range goals, as voted for by Osman Morad CEO of Standard Chartered. Zainal Abidin Hassan won best Malaysian player after captaining Malaysia to their first legends victory.  

The event is made possible thanks to Title Partner Standard Chartered Bank. Chevrolet, the Official Car of the Tournament and Manchester United Legends Team Sponsor, TM Team Malaysia Berhad, Official Telco and Malaysia Legends Team Sponsor and Kansai Paint.

Other partners include our long standing hotel partner Double Tree Hilton who are sponsoring for the third year running, as well our new TV partner and official broadcaster TV3, Flowcrete, 100 Plus, Mafro Sports, Red Army Watches, Chaswood, Qatar Airways, City Golf and Tesco.

This event was brought to you by Football Focus Asia, other upcoming EPL legends events in 2013 will include Singapore and Thailand later in the year.

Press Conference @ KLCC

On Friday 29 March, three weeks before the tournament, Football Focus Asia organised the official press conference 
for the Standard Chartered EPL Malaysia Cup 2013. Guests of honour and centre of attention were two Legendary players: Dennis Wise and Dietmar Hamann. The two were in town to promote the tournament and to announce the full line up. At KLCC in front of countless microphones and cameras the two greats, alongside FFA’s Gavin O’Luanaigh and Robert Teasdale, answered all the questions from the press. 


 The official team lists:

 Liverpool Legends

Jerzey Dudek
Steve Harkness
Rob Jones
Bjorn Tore Kvarme
Jason McAteer
Dietmar Hamann
Steve McManaman
Robbie Fowler
Mark Wright

 Manchester United Legends           EPL All Stars                         Malaysian Legends

Carl Muggleton                                     Sasa Ilic                                                  Azlisham Ibrahim
David May                                            Frank Leboeuf                                          Zami Mohd Noor
David Johnson                                      Phil Babb                                                 K. Sanbagamaran
Ronny Johnson                                     Stephane Henchoz                                   Sharim Majid
Lee Martin                                            Dennis Wise                                            Shahril Arsat
Andrew Cole                                         Michael Mols                                           Lin Chuan Yew
Lee Sharpe                                          Tore Andre Flo                                         Shamsul Abu Bakar
Clayton Blackmore                                Michael Bridges                                      Ahmad Shahul Azhar
Viv Anderson                                                                                                      Zainal Abidin Hassan

These are the players that are confirmed. Will you be there to give them a warm Malaysian welcome? 

Click here for the summary of last years edition of this tournament in Kuala Lumpur.